ACK Diocese of Embu

ACK Diocese of Embu

The Diocese of Embu was created on the 1st July 1990 by division of the former Diocese of Mount Kenya East and continues to have its headquarters in Embu town. The first Bishop was the Rt. Rev. Moses Njue. He was replaced by The Rt. Rev. Henry Nyaga Kathii. The diocesan Cathedral is also in Embu town. At formation, the Diocese had 63 clergy and 39 parishes which also included 172 congregations. Upon retirement in 2014, Bishop Kathii was succeeded by the Rt. Rev David Muriithi, who was consecrated on the 7th of December, 2014. In 1997, the Diocese was further divided to create the Diocese of Mbeere.

The Diocese has 7 Archdeaconries.


  • Kianjokoma Archdeaconry
  • Kigari Archdeaconry
  • Kagaari Archdeaconry
  • Nginda Archdeaconry
  • Karungu Archdeaconry
  • Cathedral Archdeaconry
  • Nembure Archdeaconry
Rt Rev David Muriithi Ireri

Retired Bishops.

  1. Rev. Moses Njue (1990-2006)
  2. The Rt. Rev. Henry Nyaga Kathii (2006-2014)

Contact Information

Bishop: Rt Rev David Muriithi Ireri, (Consecrated & Enthroned on the 7th December, 2014)

P.O. Box 189 – 60100, Embu,

Tel: 0728-787403/0737126276.