ACK Diocese of Mt. Kenya West

ACK Diocese of Mount Kenya West

This Diocese was created in 1993 after the subdivision of the Diocese of Mount Kenya Central. It has its headquarters at Nyeri. The first Bishop was the Rt. Rev. Alfred C. Chipman, consecrated on 6 July 1993. The Rt. Rev. Joseph Kagunda, consecrated and enthroned on 8th August 2004, replaced Bishop Chipman. He retired in April,2023. The Transition Process is underway.


  • Cathedral Archdeaconry
  • Irindi Archdeaconry
  • Githi Archdeaconry
  • Ihuririo Archdeaconry
  • Kagongo Archdeaconry
  • Karatina Archdeaconry
  • Mukurwe-ini Archdeaconry
  • Mweiga Archdeaconry
  • Naromoru Archdeaconry
  • St George’s Archdeaconry
  • Wiyumiririe Archdeaconry
  • Mucharage Archdeaconry
  • Othaya Archdeaconry

Transition Underway 

Retired Bishops

  1. The Rt. Rev. Alfred C. Chipman (1993-2004)
  2. The Rt. Rev. Joseph Kagunda (2004-2024)

Bishop: The Rev. Joseph Kagunda (consecrated on the 8th August 2004)

P.O. Box 229-10100, Nyeri,

Tel: 061-2032281