The Diocese of Thika was curved out of the larger Mt. Kenya Central and South Dioceses. Its first Bishop was the Rt. Rev. Dr. Gideon Githiga who was consecrated on the 31st of January 1999. He retired in 2013 and succeeded by The Rt. Rev. Julius Wanyoike who was consecrated on the 8th September, 2013. The Diocese has 8 Archdeaconries.


  • Cathedral Archdeaconry
  • Giachuki Archdeaconry
  • Kariara Archdeaconry
  • Mang’u Archdeaconry
  • Ruiru Archdeaconry:
  • Thika Memorial Archdeaconry
  • Juja Archdeaconry
  • Makongeni Archdeaconry
  • Mugutha Archdeaconry
  • Makongeni Archdeaconry

The Rt. Rev. Julius N. Wanyoike

Retired Bishops

  1. Rev. Dr. Gideon Githiga (1999-2013)

Contact Information

Bishop: The Rt. Rev. Julius N. Wanyoike,

P.O. Box 214-01000, Thika,

0722 423455/0732 578640.