ACK Diocese of Machakos

Diocese of Machakos

The Diocese of Machakos was formed by subdivision of the Diocese of Nairobi in 1985, with its headquarters in Machakos town. The first Bishop was The Most Rev. Benjamin Nzimbi. It will be remembered that this was an area where local Anglicans who had come across the Anglican Church elsewhere pioneered in setting up congregations. In 1995, the Diocese was sub divided to form the Diocese of Kitui, with Bishop Nzimbi becoming its new Bishop. The Rt. Rev. Josephat Kanuku was elected and consecrated   as Bishop, serving between 1995 to 2013.

In 2013, he left to become the 1st Bishop of the newly created Diocese of Makueni which was curved out of Machakos Diocese. The Rt. Rev. Joseph Mutungi was consecrated as the 3rd Bishop of Machakos Diocese on the 12th of May, 2013. The diocese has 7 Archdeaconries.


  • All Souls’ Archdeaconry
  • Athi River Archdeaconry
  • Syokimau Archdeaconry
  • Kangundo Archdeaconry
  • Yatta Archdeaconry
  • Mwala Archdeaconry
  • Kathiani Archdeaconry
  • Kibauni Archdeaconry
  • Kalama Archdeaconry
  • Matungulu Archdeaconry
The Rt. Rev. Joseph Mutungi

Retired Bishops

  1. The Most Rev. Benjamin Nzimbi (1985-1995)
  2. The Rt. Rev. Josephat Kanuku (1995-2013)

Contact Information.

Bishop: The Rt. Rev. Joseph Kioko Mutungi (Consecrated and Enthroned on the 12th of May, 2013)

P.O. Box 282 – 90100, Machakos,

Tel: 020-2148064/0704-521061,


ACK All Souls’ Cathedral, off Nairobi/Machakos Road, next to Red Cross.


Diocesan website: