The Diocese of Malindi was carved out of the Diocese of Mombasa in 2015. Its first Bishop was the Rt. Rev. Lawrence Dena, who retired in 2020. The Search for the next Bishop is underway.


  • Ganze Archdeaconry
  • Gede Archdeaconry
  • Gongoni Archdeaconry
  • Kilifi Archdeaconry
  • Lamu Archdeaconry
  • Malindi Archdeaconry
  • Mtwapa Archdeaconry
  • Tana River Archdeaconry

Transition Underway

The Rt Rev Dr. Lawrence Dena (2015-2021)

Contact Information

Bishop: The Rt. Rev. Lawrence S. K. Dena

Malindi-Lamu Road,

P.O. Box 6110-80200, Malindi.

Tel: (Office) 020-219-6730.