ACK Diocese of Meru

The Diocese of Meru was formed after the subdivision of the Diocese of Kirinyaga July, 1997. Its first Bishop was the Rt. Rev. Henry Paltridge. He served from 1998 to 2002. Upon his retirement, the Rt. Rev. Charles Mwendwa was consecrated and enthroned as the 2nd Bishop of the Diocese on the 22nd of December 2002. The Diocese has 4 Archdeaconries.


  • Chuka Archdeaconry
  • Chogoria Archdeaconry
  • Mitunguu Archdeaconry
  • Mutindwa Archdeaconry

Maua Archdeaconry

The Rt. Rev. Charles Mwendwa

Retired Bishops

The Rt. Rev. Henry Paltridge (1998-2002)

Contact Information.                                               

Bishop: The Rt. Rev. Charles Mwendwa (Consecrated and enthroned on the 22nd of December 2002)

P.O. Box 427 – 60200, Meru,

Tel: 0721-270460/0725-558948